top of page

Research before research

After reading a lot of scientific papers on the Northern Snakehead fish, I finally to see one in person! Today I met with Dr. Joseph Love from the Department of Natural Resources to ask him some questions about this unique invasive fish. Our discussion really helped to point me in a clear path to the type of observational research I plan to perform for 2016 period. I was able to use the facilities at DNR to dissect about 25 Northern Snakehead fish from the Potomac River. Wow! I am gonna need quiet a few materials for this project (I am actually funding this research myself!).

It was great experience to help learn about gut contents, as well as measure and weigh them. Meeting some wonderful people in the office such as Mary Grove, was helpful since I can direct future questions to her about the Little Patuxent River in Anne Arundel County. I think I am ready to do this!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
bottom of page