top of page

Presentation at Savage Branch Library

Thank you so much to those who came out to hear me speak about the amazing Northern Snakehead fish this morning. Great comments and questions asked about this non-native fish. This group of people were to first to hear about a few of my new findings during the research period this year.

We already know that big fish eat little fish. As most likely bass consume juvenile Snakeheads. BUT.....We have confirmed predatory birds of the Northern Snakehead fish! Nature photographer Debra Waxler took these phenomenal photos at Heinz Wildlife Refuge in Pennsylvania.  I also have been speaking with an orthinologist from University of Maryland at College Park, who has been telling me about predatory birds in my research area and their feeding habits.  More to come on this in the new year with my 2017 research report!

It's also been reported from numerous anglers that the Northern Snakehead fish, scientifically reported to not exceed 33", is said to be growing passed this expectation into the 34"-36" range!  I would still like to see some more photographic proof and start mapping these findings to see if it's "something in the water" that is causing this. Though I have read in literature that in Russia this species has grown to these proportions. 

Lastly we spoke about another topic I've seen anglers bring up that is cause for concern. It seems that a few Snakeheads that we caught seem to have some fin tearing. This could be a snapping turtle defending his territory? Or even aggression amongst their own species? Or a failed attempt from a predatory bird in an air assault?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
bottom of page