top of page

Presentation at Ho. Co. Recreation and Parks for Park Rangers


Last week I had another wonder audience for my presentation on the Northern Snakehead fish and my findings for last year's research. Thank you again to Nick Brightwell for the invitation.

I spoke to the rangers about the basic ecology of the snakehead fish and there known behaviors. They had lots of great questions, thoughts and comments. Most of them were shocked to learn so many snakeheads were caught in Howard County and in the Little Patuxent River.

I also spoke to them about my research and how I have noted behavior changes in both adults and offspring in just one year of research. The big thing that I thought was accomplished was that they are going to be putting some snakehead fish flyers out in the park bulletin boards. It was also mentioned that a consensus needs to be had about how to have anglers and rangers aware of this invasive species and the importance of killing this fish after reporting this fish to proper authorities no matter the size. Returning the fish to the original waters where caught should be the last resort.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
bottom of page